By Jim Johnson

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced a list of 19 nominees for induction next April at a ceremony in Brooklyn, New York and among them, once again, Detroit’s own MC5!

  • Bad Brains
  • Chaka Khan***
  • Chic***
  • Depeche Mode
  • Electric Light Orchestra
  • J. Geils Band***
  • Jane’s Addiction
  • Janet Jackson***
  • Joan Baez
  • Joe Tex***
  • Journey
  • Kraftwerk***
  • MC5***
  • Pearl Jam
  • Steppenwolf
  • The Cars***
  • The Zombies***
  • Tupac Shakur
  • Yes***

[***previously nominated]

To be eligible, an artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination, which means no later than 1991.

This year’s first-time nominees are Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, ELO, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam and Steppenwolf. All but Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur have previously been eligible.

Ballots will now be sent to a voting body of more than 800 artists, historians and members of the music industry. And, for the fifth year in a row, fans will also have the opportunity to vote starting now and continuing through 11:59 p.m. ET on December 5th at The top five artists selected by the public will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email address to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.

The inductees will be announced in December and the induction ceremony will be held at the Barclay’s Center in Brooklyn, New York in April. HBO will broadcast the ceremony later in the spring.

Here are what some of the artists are saying about the honor:

John Kay of Steppenwolf: “This is quite a surprise. I’d like to express my appreciation and say thank you to whoever thought Steppenwolf’s music worthy of being nominated and tossed their hat into the ring on our behalf.”

Jon Anderson, formerly of Yes: “It’s a very interesting time for Yes music … Anderson, Rabin & Wakeman is Yes music to the core … and being part of this band with [fellow former Yes members] Rick[Wakeman] and Trevor [Rabin] is just perfection. As I always say, ‘it will happen when it happens.'”

Gregg Rolie, formerly of Journey and already in the Hall as a member of Santana: “Many thanks to all of the Journey fans and Rock Hall voters for their support in making this happen.”

Zombies singer Colin Blunstone: “I’m thrilled beyond words! It’s been such an exciting year for the band, and we’re honored to even be considered.”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.3 WOMC

Here’s What You Should Know About Little Caesars ArenaIf you are heading to Little Caesars Arena, you will want to bookmark this page.
Guide: Little Caesars Arena Concert ScheduleHere are the music events booked at the arena so far.

Listen Live