By Jon Corrigan

By: Jon Corrigan

With drunk driving resulting in more than one million arrests, nearly 10,000 deaths and over $40 billion in economic damage each year, WalletHub released an in-depth report on 2016’s Strictest & Most Lenient States on DUI.

In the interest of underscoring the financial downsides of driving drunk, the report analyzed the enforcement rules in each of the 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia across 15 key metrics, ranging from fines and minimum jail sentences to ignition-interlock-device requirements that drastically reduce repeat arrests of previously convicted drunk drivers.

Michigan ranked 43rd, making it one of the more lenient DUI states.

Arizona, Georgia and Alaska topped the list, while North Dakota, District of Columbia and South Dakota rounded out the bottom.

Fast facts:
• The average fine for a first DUI ($347) is higher than the Uber fare from Washington, DC to New York, and you could get all the way to Ontario with the second-DUI average ($757).
• Repeat offenders spend an average of nearly three weeks longer in jail than first-time offenders.
• All but seven states can automatically suspend the license of someone arrested for DUI, before any court involvement.
• 92% of states require offenders to equip their vehicles with Ignition Interlock devices after a DUI.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.3 WOMC

Here’s What You Should Know About Little Caesars ArenaIf you are heading to Little Caesars Arena, you will want to bookmark this page.
Guide: Little Caesars Arena Concert ScheduleHere are the music events booked at the arena so far.

Listen Live