Bad Company will perform in the Detroit area on July 25th at the DTE Energy Music Theater but it was on this date that the band played their first-ever U.S. show 40 years ago today (July 14th, 1974) at the Travel and Transportation Building in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Arriving in America two weeks after the release of their self-titled debut album, the newly formed supergroup did 11 songs, six of them from the album. But they opened with “Deal With the Preacher,” which would appear on their second album, 1975’s Straight Shooter,and unveiled “Shooting Star,” which was also saved for that sophomore release.

The set included “The Stealer,” which singer Paul Rodgers and drummer Simon Kirke brought with them from their previous group, Free, and “Ready for Love,” which guitarist Mick Ralphs had done in his former band, Mott the Hoople. They ended the show with “Rock Me Baby,” the blues standard popularized by B.B. King and others.

Bad Company is on the road this summer with Lynyrd Skynyrd. The tour’s next stop is Tuesday in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Bad Company’s set list from July 14th, 1974

  1. Deal With the Preacher
  2. Little Miss Fortune
  3. Rock Steady
  4. Don’t Let Me Down
  5. Bad Company
  6. Shooting Star
  7. Ready for Love
  8. The Stealer
  9. Movin’ On
  10. Can’t Get Enough
  11. Rock Me Baby

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.3 WOMC

Here’s What You Should Know About Little Caesars ArenaIf you are heading to Little Caesars Arena, you will want to bookmark this page.
Guide: Little Caesars Arena Concert ScheduleHere are the music events booked at the arena so far.

Listen Live