By Jim Johnson

Members of the New York media were invited yesterday afternoon to a listening session of the new Elton John album, “The Diving Board”. Held at Electric Lady Studios, which was founded by Jimi Hendrix, the session was hosted by the album’s producer, T-Bone Burnett and Elton’s lyricist, Bernie Taupin.

T-Bone said he told Elton the only way he would do the album was if Elton were to record with a trio — his keyboards, bass and drums — as he did on his early albums. The result is a slow to mid-tempo collection of 15 songs, with the piano front and center on each one, and guitar was only noticeable on one or two tracks. “The Diving Board” will be out in September.

“The Diving Board” track listing:

1) Oceans Away

2) Oscar Wilde Gets Out

3) A Town Called Jubilee

4) The Ballad of Blind Tom

5) Dream # 1 (instrumental)

6) My Quicksand

7) Can’t Stay Alone Tonight

8) Voyeur

9) Home Again

10) Take This Dirty Water

11) Dream # 2 (instrumental)

12) The New Fever Waltz

13) Mexican Vacation

14) Dream # 3 (instrumental)

15) The Diving Board

Elton is in Arkansas tonight for a show for Walmart shareholders.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.3 WOMC

Here’s What You Should Know About Little Caesars ArenaIf you are heading to Little Caesars Arena, you will want to bookmark this page.
Guide: Little Caesars Arena Concert ScheduleHere are the music events booked at the arena so far.

Listen Live