Steven Tyler & Joe Perry Among 2013 Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees

Author: Steve Wiseman

As founding members of Aerosmith, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry have long established themselves as rock legends and are already in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Now, their songwriting will be honored as the duo gets inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame as part of the 2013 class.

Tyler and Perry have written dozens of hits over the band’s 40-year career, so it’s about time they got recognized for it. Tyler’s distinctive voice and hooks combined with Perry’s many signature riffs have made Aerosmith one of rock and roll’s most beloved bands.

“With scores of multi-platinum albums, Aerosmith continues to inspire generations to get their wings, to get a grip and to just push play,” the Hall said in a press release, referencing three of Aerosmith’s biggest albums.

The 2013 Songwriters Hall of Fame class also includes Mick Jones and Lou Gramm of Foreigner, “Downtown” songwriter Tony Hatch, “Love Is A Battlefield” songwriter Holly Knight, and Eagles songwriter J.D. Souther. The ceremony takes place June 13 in New York City.

— Matt Dolloff, 100.7 WZLX

Visit Full Site