Steely Dan’s Donald Fagen Announces Solo Album ‘Sunken Condos’

Author: Steve Wiseman

Donald Fagen, one half of Steely Dan alongside Walter Becker, has announced his fourth solo record, titled Sunken Condos. The album will be released October 16th via Reprise. It’s Fagen’s first since 2006’s Morph the Cat.

Included on the album are eight new original tracks and Fagen’s cover of Isaac Hayes’ “Out of the Ghetto,” all produced by Fagen with Michael Leonhart (who’s worked with Steely Dan since 1996).

In an interview with the Cleveland Plain-Dealer several years ago, Fagen described the record as “lighter,” and not a continuation of his Nightfly trilogy as his three existing solo albums have been. The trilogy started in 1982 with the release of Fagen’s first solo album, The Nightfly.

On Sunken Condos, Fagen reunites with past players including the Steely Dan Horns, Jon Herington and Freddie Washington.

Additionally, Fagen recently hit the road with Dukes of September, which includes Boz Scaggs and (former Dan Michael McDonald.

But fear not, Dan fans: Fagen and Becker’s work together isn’t over. Their last album, Everything Must Go, was released in 2003, but there have been rumblings for years that they’re working on new music. They hit the road for a lengthy tour both stateside and abroad in 2011.

– Jillian Mapes, CBS Local

Visit Full Site